Connect with us

Announcements

Interview With Carly X

What is your name/stage name?

Carly X.

When is your birthday?

June 8th 1999.

Where are you from?

Long Island, New York.

What do you do?

I’m a songwriter and hip hop artist.

How long have you been making music?

I’ve been writing music since the age of 6. I started recording at the age of 12, and I am now starting to make records and release them professionally at the age of 22.

What was your first song/project?

My first song was called It’s On which dropped in October of 2020. It was a Halloween rap song which expressed how I’m lyrically ready to get my career started.

Who’s your inspiration?

I pull inspiration from many different places but my top inspirations are Lauryn Hill, Queen Latifah, Kendrick, Cole and Biggie. These artists never wasted lines and always spoke their truth in every record they created.

What genre of music do you create?

Hip Hop/Rap

Do you come up with your video concepts?

Yes

Who was someone you really enjoyed working with?

I had the chance to collaborate with Doritos and Busta Rhymes a few years ago which gave me the courage to keep pursuing music. It was an eye opening experience, to be embraced by people you look up to.

What are some features you want to get?

 I would love the chance to work with Lauryn Hill, Queen Latifah, Rapsody, IDK, Tobi Lou, Capella Grey, Masego, and many more.

Who’s one person, dead or alive, that you’d want to work with?

Lauryn Hill is the number one artist on my list that I would love to collaborate with.

Are you signed to a label?

I am unsigned.

Do you want a record deal, a distribution deal, or none?

I am open to it, but it has to be the right fit and not be a deal that will mess me up in the future.

Who are your biggest supporters?

Besides family, I have some supporters from various parts of the world like the US, UK, Canada, Australia and Germany. I communicate with my top supporters often in my support group chat.

Where did your name come from?

It’s the first 3 syllables of my government name. In order to fully know me as a person, you have to be aware that there is a side of me that likes to express myself lyrically. If you are unaware of that side, then you only know a part of who I am. Same goes for those who only know me through music.

Do you write your own material?

Yes, lyrics are very important to me so if my name is on something I want it to all come from me.

What’s your favorite music to listen to?

 R&B is my favorite genre, and my second is Hip Hop/Rap.

What are you currently working on?

I’m finishing up some singles right now, and I’m also working on an EP that is based on the last four years of my life. I’m hoping to drop it next year at the end of the first quarter.

What is your latest release?

My latest release is a single titled Been Doing. It’s a one minute track that expresses that music isn’t something I recently started doing.

When is your next release?

My next release should be out the last week of November.

Are you the type to pull up alone or with a group of people?

I am the type to pull up alone. I’m usually focused on my music so I tend to only go to music events.

What is one stage you want to sell-out?

I want to sell out SOB’s. It’s a legendary stage and I feel like it’s a statement venue in the Hip-Hop scene. 26. Where is one place you want to travel to perform? One place I want to travel to and perform at is either LA or the UK.

What’s the biggest crowd that you have performed for?

During my time in Vegas with Doritos and Busta Rhymes I competed and opened up for Wiz Khalifa at the Life is Beautiful Pre-Show at The Foundry in Las Vegas. I can’t remember how many people were there though but there were hundreds of people in attendance.

Who’s someone you can see yourself on tour with?

I would love to do a tour with female artists like Tierra Whack, Chika and Rapsody. I feel like it would be dope to have a female rap tour with even more female artists than the ones I’ve listed.

Who produces your music?

I tend to work with producers overseas. I don’t know what it is but whenever I contact a producer they’re usually from overseas.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I see myself still laying the foundation for my brand, hopefully it doesn’t take a whole 5 years to achieve this but I’m willing to take it slow rather than blowing up and losing control of my career.

What’s your favorite clothing brand?

I don’t have a favorite clothing brand, I’m all over the place with clothing stores. My favorite shoe brand though is Nike.

Where do you shop?

I shop from various places online. I see an item I like (which is usually advertised) and then I go ahead and buy it. I’m not a big shopper though. I spend most of my money on my music career.

What’s your favorite type of car?

I really want a pink drop top. The company of the car doesn’t matter much to me lol.

What’s your favorite place to travel to?

I love traveling to the caribbean. I love going on royal caribbean cruises because you get to have a wonderful view of the water and visit a new country almost every day.

Did COVID change your career for better or worse?

COVID changed my career positively and negatively. It changed positively because I was able to connect and gain supporters online due to everyone being indoors. It changed my career negatively because I’m skeptical about going to multiple events because I don’t want to catch and potentially spread COVID to my loved ones.

Connect with Carly X:

Website: https://iamcarlyx.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iamcarlyx/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/iamcarlyx

Going Dummy Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d94-RnxYFCA

Been Doing Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzgDIJtNnFI

Newsletter Signup

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending

Takeoff’s Legal Legacy Unfurls in $1M Lawsuit

Announcements

Jeezy’s Unforgettable Weed Trip: A Cautionary Tale from the Atlanta Rap Veteran

Announcements

Wiz Khalifa’s High Chronicles: A Trip Down Memory Lane with Guapdad 4000

Feature

50 Cent’s Parenting Win: Turning Basketball Bets into Life Lessons

Feature

Newsletter Signup

Copyright © 2024 Maxed Hiphop.

Newsletter Signup